Fool Me Once, Hollywood…

Image

 

Hope’s a funny thing. It can obliterate common sense, override reason, and make you believe something you ordinarily won’t. We know better, but that doesn’t stop us. 

Take this new Godzilla movie. I HOPE it’s good. I really want it to be. But whenever Hollywood gets its hands on something like this, I’m always disappointed. Sure, the people behind the movie say all the right things, but the press releases, most of them anyway, keep dashing my hopes. Where is the Japanese cast? News of Japanese location shooting? Nonexistent. All of which points an ‘Americanized’ version. Again. I can’t tell you how much hate that approach. French vintners hate California wines less than I hate this. 

No studio would ever reset Harry Potter in the US. So why Godzilla? It doesn’t make any sense. I can’t tell you how happy I am the rumored US version of Yamato never happened. Remember that one? If not, a little refresher: the writers, afraid US audiences wouldn’t accept an enemy battleship as Earth’s savior, thought about recasting the iconic Yamato with the iconic Arizona. Yes, I understand the thinking, and no, that didn’t make me hate it any less.

Similar ‘reimagining’ swirled around the Akira movie. With Keanu Reeves attached to it no less. Yeah, THAT’s a movie I’d want to see. You know, for all it’s faults, at least Speed Racer kept things somewhat faithful to the original–right down to the theme music. Which reminds me. Leave out the Godzilla theme from Godzilla and there’ll be hell to pay–legalities be damned. I might just have to see Wheedon’s Much Ado About Nothing instead. Oh wait…

*Be sure to pick up my anime-inspired ebook, Kojiki. Available this Friday, April 19 at MusaPublishing.com, Amazon, iTunes, Barnes and Noble, etc. Written by an anime fan for anime fans.

Leave a Reply

