Lois Lane Fallout is Flawless

lois-lane-fallout

Take note Hollywood: THIS is how you move an overshadowed character from the darkness and put her into the spotlight. Until now, I’ve never seen Lois Lane as anything but Superman’s requisite window dressing and love interest. Not that it’s her fault. She’s faired rather poorly in most media incarnations. Granted, my knowledge comes from her various movie and tv incarnations, (I’m not a comic reader, so it’s entirely possible she’s received better treatment there. I just haven’t seen it.)

With Fallout, she’s no longer an after-though. She’s front and center. Gloriously so. Ms. Bond’s Lois Lane is fearless, feisty, and engaging. She’s far more interesting than ‘Smallvilleguy’, whose cameos never made me want to see more of him. I love what Ms. Bond’s done here. Making the MC someone other than the superhero adds an air of wonder and mystery to Superman that Ms. Bond gloriously exploits. Let’s be honest: wouldn’t Batman be far more interesting if the shorty presented him like the Alien in Ridley Scott’s classic Alien film: a nightmare in the shadows. Imagine that, a horror movie, but one substituting villains for comely coeds, a movie with the hero as the monster.

But I digress, something Fallout never does. From the start, Lois Lane is central here–even if she’s only 16. Wonderfully drawn, and easy to cheer for, she takes on a group of creepy students who find themselves caught up in a larger conspiracy. Saying anymore would be too much of a spoiler–and I don’t want to spoil it.

Suffice it to say, I blew through this book. I loved every page. I can’t wait for the next book! Please hurry, Ms. Bond. I need more!

Rating: 5-STARS

6 responses to “Lois Lane Fallout is Flawless

  1. Sounds like a great read! I used to read Gwenda Bond’s blog, but haven’t actually read any of her published works yet. Adding to my to-read list now; thanks for reviewing!

    • You’re welcome. I haven’t blogged in a while, but this book was so good, I had to! I picked it up on a whim at Book Expo America. To be honest, I saw it in the show’s preview guide and was very skeptical. As I said, Lois Lane always came across as bland to me. I just never liked her. The minute I started reading this book, that all changed. I was hooked. Some of the things she does and says here had me openly grinning. I loved Gwenda Bond’s characterization. I couldn’t help myself.

  2. The book is fabulous but I find your take on Lois to be kind of baffling. Lois was the co-star of her own Tv show in the 90’s where she not only shared equal billing with Superman but where the entire POV of the series was told equally through her eyes. Lois was actually the dynamic character on that show. She was the one who went through career challenges and fought to rise to the top. She was the one who ultimately decided whether she wanted to be married or have a child. She drove every choice. Clark was there and he was wonderful but the true choices made for the 4 years of that show came from her. She’s one of the only women in comics to ever truly get the opportunity to drive that kind of story equally. Even in the later seasons of Smallville, she not only was an equal player but had her own journey and life outside of Clark. They loved each other but she had her own path to follow to rise as a woman in her job. You also discount that in the 50’s, she was really one of the first women to appear on television as a working woman. She was the first woman that a lot of kids ever SAW on TV working with the men. In the 70’s, she was a single woman who worked in a man’s world and had her own apartment and own sexuality. I’m pretty uncomfortable with her ever being described as just Superman’s “side piece” bc it devalues how important she has been for a long time and how even decades ago she was making waves in a man’s world in ways that really mattered to a lot of little girls. This book has been a LONG time coming and something the character has richly deserved but it’s not actually out of the norm for this character as she’s always been way more important than you are making her out to be. She’s long been an example of a woman who goes after what she wants both at work and in love and I’m really glad there is a book series following through on that.

    • Kate–You make some very good points. You rightly point out how, in her 50’s era incarnation, Lois was a go-getter female reporter in a man’s world. You don’t need to be baffled by my perspective. My view is limited to the relatively few pieces of Superman I’ve seen–mostly the feature films and the 50’s tv series. I didn’t watch either Smallville or Lois & Clark. I didn’t watch the WB animated Superman either. Even so, the Lois Lane presented in Fallout is superb. She’s infectious, and I they way Ms. Bond presents her. This Lois is smart, dogged, funny, and charismatic. And she’s a born leader. I’ll take you at your word that Lois is much better in the shows you mentioned than in what I’ve seen, but I stand by my statement that Lois is a tough character to write. Similar, maybe, to a Doctor Who companion. In both cases, the character lives in the MC’s rather large shadow. In Fallout, Lois breaks free from it, and it’s wonderful to read.

  3. After your rave at the BEA I ran over to see if they had any copies left and haunted the rest of the day looking for drops. I was very sad and a bit ticked that the vendors alternated between ‘no’ ‘I don’t know’ and ‘come back tomorrow’ especially since other people said how nice the publicist was. So I’m going the traditional route of having to wait for it at the library. Not like I’ve anything else to read…. (But I wanted that one next!)

    • Sorry been so AWOL. Been absolutely crazy. Did you ever find the Lois Lane book? I loved it. Also want to thank you for a great in-line conversation to help pass the time. I haven’t read Scalzi’s book yet, but it’s on my list thanks to you. Please stay in touch. Is there a better way to connect? I know you said you’re not on Twitter.

Leave a Reply

